Shopping Cart Link


Wesleyan University Press







Sign up for our newsletter







Bookmark and Share
Cart
Cart link
Paperback add to cart


For Educators
View cart
Cover image

Emotional Storm
Michael Eigen




Wesleyan
2005 • 272 pp. 2 illus. 5 1/2 x 8 1/2"
Psychology & Psychiatry / Self-Help/Motivational

$22.95 Paperback, 978-0-8195-6754-3



"Eigen's book is for readers who are willing to engage other wills, to storm the ramparts of apathy, prejudice, and self-protection, to come alive in a democratic universe of real personalities."E. James Lieberman, The Foreword

Penetrating look at human relatedness by one of the field’s most innovative thinkers.

“When two personalities meet, an emotional storm is created.” This provocative quote by renowned psychoanalyst W.R. Bion is the point of departure for Eigen’s new work. In the tradition of Martin Buber, Eigen explores the broad spectrum of emotions we experience in our relatedness to others, from feelings of longing, plenitude, and fulfillment to starvation, suffocation, and blind rage. Unlike authors of “easy” self-help books, Eigen embraces the storms of life as a critical aspect of our human bond. For Eigen, the emotional storm is not pathological, but rather integral to our humanity and instrumental to our growth and development. For this reason, he looks critically at our attempts to blunt our emotional response to the world around us. Like Eigen’s other work, Emotional Storm weaves case studies, literary references, and psychoanalytic theory into an integrated, complex understanding.

Click here for TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reviews / Endorsements



“Emotional Storm is a remarkable work, a tour de force. Eigen has lucidly, articulately, and eloquently put into unforgettable prose some of the most important clinical themes in contemporary psychoanalysis.” —James S. Grotstein, MD, Clinical Professor of Psychiatry, UCLA School of Medicine

“Eigen’s latest work is an X-ray of the emotional underbelly of our contemporary world. A passionately moral work written with searing honesty, exemplary self-reflectiveness, and a respect for human complexity.”—Jeffrey Rubin, author of The Good Life



MICHAEL EIGEN is in private practice in New York. Author of numerous books, he is also Associate Clinical Professor of Psychology at New York University and a Senior Member of the National Psychological Association for Psychoanalysis.



Wed, 2 Aug 2017 09:04:20 -0500