Shopping Cart Link


Cavankerry Press







Sign up for our newsletter







Bookmark and Share
Cart
Cart link
Paperback add to cart


For Educators
View cart
Cover image Click for larger image

Letters from a Distant Shore
Marie Lawson Fiala



LaurelBooks

Cavankerry
2010 • 338 pp. 6 x 9 1/4"
Memoir / Prose

$21.00 Paperback, 978-1-933880-19-8



Marie Lawson Fiala’s account is lyrical, moving, and utterly absorbing. In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking or Martha Beck’s Expecting... [continued in Reviews below]”—Gretchen Rubin,

Tragedy shattered Marie Lawson Fiala’s life as wife, mother and lawyer when her 13-year old son, Jeremy, was felled by a massive hemorrhage from a ruptured artery deep in his brain. Within an hour, Jeremy was in a coma, sustained only by machines. This memoir of a mother’s ferocious care, devastating loss and prayerful transcendence focuses on bringing her son back from the edge. The suspense is relentless and the author’s observations as sharp as a scalpel.

Reviews / Endorsements

Marie Lawson Fiala’s account is lyrical, moving, and utterly absorbing. In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking or Martha Beck’s Expecting Adam, she details how ordinary existence can change in an instant. The reader learns how a family’s terrible challenge can bring great wisdom, renewed spiritual strength, and even moments of joy and beauty.Gretchen Rubin

Letters from a Distant Shore is a book about Grace: The Grace of love, the Grace of children and the Grace of life itself. Marie Fiala's beautifully crafted words shine in the darkness like a nightlight, reminding us that even at times of the greatest vulnerability and despair, we are not alone. Bring tissues. You'll need them.—Dr. Naomi Rachel Remen

“In a sea of mediocre memoir, Marie Lawson Fiala’s magnificent, meticulous and utterly moving chronicle of her son’s combat with death shines like mother of pearl. Open your heart to this book. It’s that rare thing—an almost perfect read.”—Jacquelyn Mitchard



MARIE LAWSON FIALA’s first language was Czech, and she learned English only after starting grade school in the U.S. She earned her BA in Psychology with Distinction from Stanford University, her Juris Doctor degree from Stanford Law School, and MFA in Writing from the University of San Francisco. A full-time practicing attorney and a partner in an international law firm, specializing in complex commercial litigation. She is married and the mother of three children. She lives with her family, two wise cats, and a humble dog in California.



Sat, 30 Sep 2017 15:12:00 -0500