Shopping Cart Link


University Press of New England







Sign up for our newsletter







Bookmark and Share
Cart
Cart link
Paperback add to cart


For Educators
View cart
Cover image

Boon Island
Including Contemporary Accounts of the Wreck of the *Nottingham Galley*
Kenneth Roberts; Jack Bales, ed.; Richard Warner, ed.




UPNE
1995 • 385 pp. 1 Chart. 1 Map. 5 1/2 x 8 1/2"
Fiction & Literature / Maritime History / Nautical

$19.95 Paperback, 978-0-87451-744-6

Not for sale in the British Commonwealth except Canada


“In the tradition of Treasure Island, Robinson Crusoe, and the Bounty trilogy . . . Once you’ve read this powerful story the barren rocky island will become part of your inner consciousness—you’ll never forget it.”Saturday Review

The complete text of Roberts' last historical novel, presented for the first time with contemporary--and conflicting--accounts of the shipwreck on which the novel was based.

This classic tale of shipwreck and survival is reprinted in a new edition, with essays that provide a historical perspective and trace the sources from which Kenneth Roberts (1885-1957) drew his tale. A native Mainer, Roberts, whose historical novels include Northwest Passage and Arundel, was intrigued by the story of the December 1710 wreck of the Nottingham. After running aground a dozen miles offshore, the ship broke up, stranding her crew with minimal tools, scant shelter, and a few pieces of cheese. The men survived nearly a month of screeching gales, sub-freezing temperatures, and driving snowstorms. During their ordeal they resorted to cannibalism and were finally rescued after one of them made it ashore on a crude raft. Included here are contemporary accounts from crew members, offering dramatically different versions of the true-life traumatic event and a fascinating counterpoint to Roberts’ fictionalized version. A bestseller when published in 1956, Boon Island is a story of the ways that crisis can inspire the best--and worst--in human nature.

Reviews / Endorsements

“A tale for those who love high adventure, heroism, and the triumphant grandeur of the human soul”Baltimore Evening Sun

“One of those experiences in reading which . . . can never be forgotten . . . Roberts has added a dimension of his own to the theme of men against the sea.”New York Herald Tribune



The editors are at Mary Washington College where JACK BALES is Reference Librarian and author of two books on Kenneth Roberts and RICHARD WARNER is Professor of History.



Sun, 17 Dec 2017 14:06:07 -0500