Shopping Cart Link


University Press of New England







Sign up for our newsletter





Hardscrabble Books–Fiction of New England


The titles from Hardscrabble Books are “fiction of New England,” both original works and paperback reprints. The name Hardscrabble conveys a sense of human experience as shaped by environment. From the White Mountains of New Hampshire to the coast of Maine to the woods of Vermont; from urban centers such as Boston to Provincetown on the tip of Cape Cod, Hardscrabble Books also represent the breadth and rich variety of New England. Like the tough and attractive dandelion flower of the logo, Hardscrabble Books are aesthetically satisfying, useful, ubiquitous, and, when properly fermented, intoxicating.

We are no longer accepting submissions for this series.


The Adventures of Allegra Fullerton
Or, A Memoir of Startling and Amusing Episodes from Itinerant Life—A Novel
A picaresque novel of the remarkable life of a liberated 19th-century woman.
Begiebing, Robert J.

Audacity, Privateer Out of Portsmouth
Continuing the Account of the Life and Times of Geoffrey Frost, Mariner, of Portsmouth, in New Hampshire, as Faithfully Translated from the Ming Tsun Chronicles and Diligently Compared with other Contemporary Histories
The second volume of the adventures of Geoffrey Frost
Fender, J. E.

The Best Revenge
Short Stories
Cold honesty, grudging acceptance, and sweet revenge: facing down the demons in small-town New Hampshire.
Rule, Rebecca

The Country of the Pointed Firs and Other Stories

A centennial edition of a classic New England novel.
Jewett, Sarah Orne. Sarah Way Sherman, ed. and introd.

Exile in the Kingdom

A haunting novel of alienation and youth in a culture bred on casual violence.
Harnum, Robert

Leaving Pico

Set in the vibrant Portuguese community of Cape Cod, a compelling story of a young man’s coming-of-age
Gaspar, Frank X.

The Lucifer Cypher

A harrowing novel of power and suspense from one of the eminent voices of American historical fiction
Fender, J. E.

Marie Blythe

A picaresque saga of a young French-Canadian woman in Vermont, available in a new paperback edition
Mosher, Howard Frank

The Old American
A Novel
A long-awaited new novel set in the period of the French and Indian Wars brings a new dimension to the region’s history
Hebert, Ernest

On the Spur of Speed
Continuing the Account of the Life and Times of Geoffrey Frost, Mariner, of Portsmouth, in New Hampshire, as Faithfully Translated from the Ming Tsun Chronicles, and incorporating an Account of Joseph Frost's and Juby's Conduct on Lake Champlain, all Diligently Compared with Other Contemporary Histories
The shaping of a hero and a key battle of the American Revolution
Fender, J. E.

Our Lives, Our Fortunes
Continuing the Account of the Life and Times of Geoffrey Frost, Mariner, of Portsmouth, in New Hampshire, as Faithfully Translated from the Ming Tsun Chronicles and Diligently Compared with other Contemporary Histories
Geoffrey Frost participates in a key battle of the American Revolution in the latest installment of the Frost Saga
Fender, J. E.

Peyton Place

A new paperback edition of the infamous novel that shocked the nation
Metalious, Grace; Cameron, Ardis, intro.

The Private Revolution of Geoffrey Frost
Being an Account of the Life and Times of Geoffrey Frost, Mariner, of Portsmouth, in New Hampshire, as Faithfully Translated from the Ming Tsun Chronicles and Diligently Compared with other Contemporary Histories
In the tradition of Patrick O’Brian and C. S. Forester, a novel of naval warfare—set during the American revolution
Fender, J. E.

Rebecca Wentworth’s Distraction

A novel of art and obsession in eighteenth-century New England.
Begiebing, Robert J.

Return to Peyton Place

The continuing story of Peyton Place is once again available in paperback
Metalious, Grace; Cameron, Ardis, intro.

The Story of a Bad Boy

The timeless boyhood adventures of a mischievous lad in 19th-century New England, in a new edition for today's readers.
Aldrich, Thomas Bailey. A. B. Frost, illus.; David Watters, introd.

The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin

Based on an actual unsolved murder from the records of colonial America, Robert J. Begiebing’s The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin is at once a spellbinding mystery and a fascinating evocation of life in early America.
Begiebing, Robert J.

Summer Light

A Maine vacation forces a young woman to challenge her own understanding of the world in a sharply insightful first novel
Robinson, Roxana

Understood Betsy

A well-loved classic is once again available
Fisher, Dorothy Canfield

Water Witches

An engaging novel of human dilemmas that find unusual solutions.
Bohjalian, Chris

Wharton’s New England
Seven Stories and Ethan Frome
Tales of betrayal, folly, and moral fervor acted out against a stark New England backdrop.
Wharton, Edith. Barbara A. White, ed.

Where the Rivers Flow North

Available again, six tales of Kingdom County, Vermont
Mosher, Howard Frank

The Wisest Man in America

Loss, redemption, and the New Hampshire primary tie two men as they search for what's lasting in a world of change.
Wetherell, W. D.