Shopping Cart Link

Carnegie Mellon University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart

For Educators
View cart
Cover image Click for larger image

Victims of the Latest Dance Craze
Cornelius Eady

Carnegie Mellon Classic Contemporary Series: Poetry

Carnegie Mellon
1997 • 56 pp. 16 illus. 5 1/2 x 9 1/4"
Poetry / Poetry - American

$16.95 Paperback, 978-0-88748-254-0

A reissuing of Victims of the Latest Dance Craze, poetry by Cornelius Eady.

Victims of the Latest Dance Craze was the 1985 Lamont Poetry Selection of the Academy of American Poets, an award given for an American poet’s second book.

Click here for TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reviews / Endorsements

“Following the laughter and the compassionate pith of a dauntless imagination, these poems beeline or zig-zag always to the jugular, the dramatic and unarguable revelation of the heart.”—June Jordan

“There’s a knife-edge clarity under the voice, intricate rhythm patterns threaded through the lines, an improvisational feeling that doesn’t pull against the poetry. There isn’t any linguistic sleight of hand happening in his poetry; the emotion and motion feel grounded to the earth.”—Yusef Komunyakaa

CORNELIUS EADY has published four other books of poetry, including The Gathering of My Name (1991), You Don’t Miss Your Water (1995), and The Autobiography of a Jukebox (1996). He teaches and directs The Poetry Center at the State University of New York at Stony Brook.

Sun, 23 Sep 2018 13:59:05 -0500