Shopping Cart Link

Carnegie Mellon University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart

For Educators
View cart
Cover image Click for larger image

Sacred Conversations
Peter Cooley

Carnegie Mellon Poetry Series

Carnegie Mellon
1998 • 104 pp. 5 1/2 x 8 1/2"
Poetry / Poetry - American

$15.95 Paperback, 978-0-88748-256-4

A collection of poetry by Peter Cooley.

Click here for TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reviews / Endorsements

“With his stunning eye for detail, with his ability of manipulate voice for dramatic expressiveness, with his skill in weaving in and out of a range of styles from the subtly impressionistic to the overly dramatic, Cooley is one of our most distinctive American poets.”—Prairie Schooner

“Cooley finds occasion for celebration in the minute and circumstantial events of day-to-day living . . . [his] obsession with interpreting each aspect of the ‘miraculous ordinary’ forms the most distinctive feature of his verse.”—The Gettysburg Review

“Cooley’s spiritual receptivity may surprise some readers accustomed to the secular drone of much contemporary poetry, but his faith is never dogmatic, never held above the reader to admonish. Instead, it merely conditions his daily interaction with the world as father, as husband, and especially as a poet, whose duty it is to ‘transcribe’ the ‘squints and hintings’ of his presence.”—Indiana Review

The Astonished Hours is a cohesive book thematically, and the craft and grace of the poems demonstrates the power of free verse as a ‘form,’ and of voice itself as perhaps the most important late twentieth-century ‘form.’”—Black Warrior Review

PETER COOLEY was born in Detroit and grew up there and in the suburbs of the city. A graduate of Shimer College, The University of Chicago and The University of Iowa, he lives in New Orleans, where he is Professor of English at Tulane University. Married and the father of three children, he has published five books of poetry: The Company of Strangers, which has been reissued by Coyne & Chenoweth, The Room Where Summer Ends, Nightseasons, The Van Gogh Notebook, and The Astonished Hours, all of which were published by Carnegie Mellon University Press.

Tue, 15 May 2018 13:12:30 -0500