Shopping Cart Link

Carnegie Mellon University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart
Cover image

The Afterlife
Larry Levis

Carnegie Mellon Classic Contemporary Series: Poetry

Carnegie Mellon
1998 • 64 pp. 5 1/2 x 9 1/4"
Poetry / Poetry - American

$16.95 Paperback, 978-0-88748-279-3

A reissuing of The Afterlife, poetry by Larry Levis.

Click here for TABLE OF CONTENTS

LARRY LEVIS was born in Fresno, California, on September 30, 1946, and was educated at California State University at Fresno (BA), Syracuse University (MA), and the University of Iowa (PhD). He published five collections of poems during his life, Wrecking Crew (1972), The Afterlife (1977), The Dollmaker’s Ghost (1981), Winter Stars (1985), and The Widening Spell of the Leaves(1991), as well as a collection of stories, Black Freckles (1992). A posthumous book of poems, Elegy, was published in 1997.

At the time of his death in May 1996, he was Professor of English at Virginia Commonwealth University in Richmond, Virginia, and he had taught previously at the University of Missouri, the University of Utah, the University of Iowa, and in the Warren Wilson Creative Writing Program. His awards included the United States Award of International Poetry Forum, the Lamont Prize, and selection in the National Poetry Series. He received fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and Guggenheim Foundation, and an individual artist’s grant from the Virginia Commission for the Arts. In 1989, he was a Senior Fulbright Fellow in Yugoslavia. His work appeared in American Poetry Review, The Southern Review, Field, and The Iowa Review, as well as in numerous other magazines.

Tue, 15 May 2018 13:28:20 -0500