Shopping Cart Link

Carnegie Mellon University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart

For Educators
View cart
Cover image Click for larger image

Prague Winter
Richard Katrovas

Carnegie Mellon Poetry Series

Carnegie Mellon
2004 • 96 pp. 5 1/2 x 8 1/2"
Poetry / Poetry - American

$15.95 Paperback, 978-0-88748-405-6

A collection of poetry by Richard Katrovas.

Prague's Velvet Revolution changed Richard Katrovas's life and values profoundly, and Prague Winter reflects those changes. Katrovas bears witness to the remarkable transformation of one of the world's great cities, laying bare his life not in the spirit of confession so much as in solidarity with all who dare to change. Prague Winter chronicles and signs one American's view of Central Europe's metamorphosis, and how that perspective redirected his journey through midlife.

Click here for TABLE OF CONTENTS

RICHARD KATROVAS is the author of six volumes of poetry, a book of short stories, a novel, and a memoir. His poems, stories, and essays have appeared widely in leading magazines, journals, and anthologies. Retired from the University of New Orleans after twenty years, he is now Professor of English at Western Michigan University where he is the founding director of the Prague Summer Program. He is married to Dominika Winterova, and they have two daughters, Ema and Annie. The Katrovas / Winterova family keeps residences in Prague, Czech Republic and Kalamazoo, Michigan.

Tue, 15 May 2018 13:16:01 -0500