Shopping Cart Link

Carnegie Mellon University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart

For Educators
View cart
Cover image Click for larger image

Sonnets for an Analyst
Gladys Schmitt

Carnegie Mellon Classic Contemporary Series: Poetry

Carnegie Mellon
2004 • 72 pp. 5 1/2 x 9 1/4"
Poetry / Poetry - American

$16.95 Paperback, 978-0-88748-421-6

A reissuing of Sonnets for an Analyst, poems by Gladys Schmitt.

Sonnets for an Analyst, Gladys Schmitt's only published collection of poems, originally appeared from Harcourt Brace Jovanovich in 1973. It has been out of print for many years.

GLADYS SCHMITT was born in Pittsburgh in 1909. She was awarded a B.A., as well as an honorary Doctor of Letters degree, from the University of Pittsburgh. Schmitt was the author of eleven novels, including David the King, Rembrandt, and The Godforgotten which were translated into many languages and sold millions of copies. She was Thomas S. Baker Professor of Literature at Carnegie Mellon University, where she founded the Creative Writing Program and was a member of the faculty for thirty years. Among other honors, she was awarded Carnegie Mellon's Ryan Award for Meritorious Teaching. She died on October 3, 1972.

Tue, 15 May 2018 13:16:04 -0500