Shopping Cart Link

Carnegie Mellon University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart

For Educators
View cart
Cover image Click for larger image

The Long Haul
Vern Rutsala

Carnegie Mellon Poetry Series

Carnegie Mellon
2015 • 96 pp. 5 1/2 x 8 1/2"

$15.95 Paperback, 978-0-88748-601-2

“Rutsala’s special achievement, it seems to me, is to have made the furniture of everyday middle-class life in America available to the purposes of serious poetry.”—Norman Friedman, Chicago Review

New poetry

The Long Haul moves back and forth through time, touching down on real and imaginary sites. Some of these places are in the public domain, as it were, and others are private. The geography is often in the West—Oregon and Idaho—but there are significant side trips in the East and Europe as well as regions that can't be found on maps.

Click here for TABLE OF CONTENTS

Reviews / Endorsements

“I know of no poet who has grown more surely, steadily, and triumphantly through the years.”—Carolyn Kizer

From the Book:

“Coming to the End”

By now our last best hope
is a broken muffler
scraping its brains out
along the road, giving
our anthem a new music.
We know the frontier
is out to lunch for good
and we stand in its
stale prop wash, our
streets of gold become
just buckling tar. There's
no way back
at amnesia have paved
the trails with souvenirs
from Hong Kong
and rubber checks.
It's just as well.
Going back would
only stir up that old
arthritis in our souls
and rattle tin cups for
these lost cellars where
even the potatoes
have gone blind.

VERN RUTSALA’S The Moment’s Equation was a finalist for the 2005 National Book Award. Other recent books include A Handbook for Writers, How We Spent Our Time (Akron Poetry Prize), and Other Voices. Earlier books include The Window, Laments, The Journey Begins, Paragraphs, Walking Home from the Icehouse, Ruined Cities, Selected Poems (Oregon Book Award), and Little-Known Sports (Juniper Prize). Other awards include a Guggenheim Fellowship, two NEA grants, a Masters Fellowship from the Oregon Arts Commission, two Carolyn Kizer Poetry Prizes, the Kenneth O. Hanson Award, the Mississippi Review Poetry Prize, a Pushcart Prize, and the C.E.S. Wood Award.

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 12:25:18 -0500