Shopping Cart Link

Northeastern University Press

Sign up for our newsletter

Bookmark and Share
Cart link
Paperback add to cart

For Educators
View cart
Cover image

Composers On Music
Eight Centuries of Writings
Josiah Fisk, ed.; Jeff Nichols, ed.

1997 • 544 pp. 6 x 9 1/4"

$45.00 Paperback, 978-1-55553-279-6
$34.99 Ebook, 978-1-55553-864-4

Check your ebook retailer or local library for ebook availability.

Sam Morgenstern's classic anthology, now thoroughly updated with new selections and commentary reflecting recent music scholarship

Reviews / Endorsements

“Sam Morgenstern’s Composers on Music has been an indispensable item, for work and for pleasure, these past forty years: the beat-up condition of my copy attests to that. But so much has happened since the 1950s and so many interesting new voices have arisen that we have badly needed an update. Now Josiah Fisk has answered our cry with his thorough revision of that anthology, and he has done it splendidly, bringing his impressive intelligence, knowledge, discrimination, and taste to bear on the job.”—Michael Steinberg, Program Annotator of the San Francisco Symphony and the New York Philharmonic

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 11:52:43 -0500