Shopping Cart Link


Sign up for our newsletter

Music History from Primary Sources
A Guide to the Moldenhauer Archives
Jon Newsom, ed.; Alfred Mann, ed.

Library of Congress


• Foreword —James H. Billington, The Librarian of Congress

• Introduction —Jon Newsom, Chief, Music Division.

• Introductory Essay (The Art of Musical Notation, The Rise of Music Drama, Classicism and Romanticism, An Age of Personal Memory) —Alfred Mann

• Essays on Selected Documents Presented in alphabetical order by composer.

• The Nathan Bequest: Payment Receipts in the Hand of Johann Sebastian Bach, 1746 to 1748 (With a Fragment for the Year 1749 in the Hand of His Son) —Robert L. Marshall

• Comments on Béla Bartók’s Working Method in Dealing with Proofs for His Violin Concerto (1937–1938) —Ferenc Bónis

• A Sketch Leaf from Ludwig van Beethoven’s Piano Sonata, op. 28 —Susan Clermont

• A Beethoven Sketch for the Puzzle Canon “Das Schweigen,” WoO 168 —Susan Clermont

• Two Sketches for Alban Berg’s Lulu —Patricia Hall

• Ernest Bloch’s Conducting Score for Schelomo —Michael Nott

• John Blow’s “Arise, Great Monarch, and Ascend the Throne” —Watkins Shaw

• Pierre Boulez’s Le Marteau sans maître —Robert Piencikowski

• Johannes Brahms’s Autograph of “Die Kränze” —Jürgen Thym

• Two Brahms Letters —Jürgen Thym

• Some Autobiographical Overtones in Brahms’s Rinaldo —Carol A. Hess

• Two Letters by Anton Bruckner —Jürgen Thym

• Dr. Burney, Samuel Wesley, and J. S. Bach’s Goldberg Variations —Philip Olleson

• John Cage’s “The Wonderful Widow of Eighteen Springs” —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Pablo Casals: A Letter Written from Exile —Douglas W. Foard

• Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco’s “Ozymandias” —Massimo Ossi

• A Chopin Manuscript: Prelude in A-flat Major, op. posth. —Robin Rausch

• Luigi Dallapiccola’s Sketch for Ulisse —Wayne Shirley

• Fredrick Delius’s “Zweii Braune Augen” —Don C. Gillespie

• George Gershwin: A Sketch for Porgy and Bess —Wayne Shirley

• Excerpts from Gluck’s Alceste, Copied and Revised by Hector Berlioz —Joël-Marie Fauquet

• George Frideric Handel’s 1749 Letter to Charles Jennens —William D. Gudger

• Karl Amadeus Hartmann’s Miserae (1933–1934) —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Josef Matthias Hauer’s Melischer Entwurf —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Paul Hindemith’s Hérodiade —Jürgen Thym

• Arthur Honegger’s “Les Ombres”: Fragment of a Lost Film Score —Fred Steiner

• Transformation and Adaptation: The Evolution of Charles Ives’s Song “From ‘Paracelsus’” —Felix Meyer

• The Kerver Missale Romanum —Denise P. Gallo

• Franz Liszt’s Psalm XVIII —Rena Charnin Mueller

• Witold Lutoslawski’s Venetian Games —Michael O’Brien

• Gustav Mahler Sketches in the Moldenhauer Archives —Edward R. Reilly

• Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy: Overture to Elijah, Arrangement of Piano Duet (1847) —R. Larry Todd

• A Letter by Pietro Metastasio —Denise P. Gallo

• Wolfang Amadè Mozart’s Allegro and Andante (“Fantasy”) in F Minor for Mechanical Organ, K. 608 —Neal Zaslaw

• The Coronation Scene from Modest Musorgsky’s Boris Godunov in Rimsky-Korsakov’s Edition —Kevin LaVine

• Krzysztof Penderecki’s Polymorphia and Fluorescences —Peggy Monastra

• A Fragment from Act II of Giacomo Puccini’s La Bohème —Linda B. Fairtile

• George Rochberg’s Fifth Symphony: A Commentary by the Composer
• Gioachino Rossini’s Moïse —Philip Gossett

• Arnold Schoenberg’s Adagio for Strings and Harp —Claudio Spies

• Two Leaves of Sketches for Arnold Schoenberg’s Concerto for String Quartet and Orchestra —Claudio Spies

• Of Songs and Cycles: A Franz Schubert Bifolio —Morten Solvik

• Gunther Schuller on Edward Steuermann and Schuller’s Symphony for Brass —Interview with Jon Newsom

• Robert Schumann’s Burla in G Minor —John Daverio

• Igor Stravinsky’s Threni: Conducting Details —Claudio Spies

• Germaine Tailleferre’s Concerto pour Piano et 12 Instruments —Michael O’Brien

• Aurelio de la Vega’s The Magic Labyrinth: Reminiscences of the Composer
• Giuseppe Verdi’s Attila —Philip Gossett

• Anton Webern’s Six Pieces for Orchestra, op. 6, Arrangement for Chamber Ensemble —Felix Meyer

• Anton Webern’s “Mein Weg geht jetzt vorüber,” op. 15, No. 4 —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Anton Webern’s Zwei Lieder für gemischten Chor, op. 19 —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Anton Webern’s Jone Poems —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Frank Wedekind: Stock Poster with His Autograph Prologue to Der Erdgeist —Lauriejean Reinhardt

• Inventory
• Arranged in alphabetical order by surname, then alphabetically by holding institution. The compositions are arranged mainly in alphabetical order. Shelf list locations are only provided for Library of Congress material. Numerous signatures are included.

• Glossary

• Repositories

• Contributors

Mon, 18 Jun 2018 12:55:08 -0500