University Press of New England

Darby Chronicles

The seven novels of Ernest Hebert’s Darby Chronicles cover 35 years in the life of a small New England town as seen through the eyes of three families—the Elmans, the Salmons, and the Jordans—each representing a distinct social class. It all starts with The Dogs of March, cited for excellence in 1980 by the Hemingway Foundation (now the Pen Faulkner Award for Fiction), and culminates with Howard Elman’s Farewell, in which the title character and workingman protagonist sets out to do “a great thing” before he motors off into the sunset.

The Dogs of March

The first novel in Hebert’s acclaimed Darby Chronicles
Hebert, Ernest

A Little More Than Kin

Ollie Jordan: “Everybody’s got an idiot chained to him, only difference is, mine’s here to see”
Hebert, Ernest

Whisper My Name

The stakes are high when a company proposes to build a regional shopping mall in Darby
Hebert, Ernest

The Passion of Estelle Jordan

Maybe the way to save yourself is to save someone else
Hebert, Ernest

Live Free or Die

Long drop, no net, when the trash man’s son and the squire’s daughter fall in love
Hebert, Ernest


Ernest Hebert returns to Darby for a new novel in his “splendidly imagined cycle” (New York Times Book Review).
Hebert, Ernest

Howard Elman's Farewell

Suppose all a man has left is his imagination. Then what?
Hebert, Ernest